Kwara APC passes vote of no confidence on party chair


By Mumini AbdulKareem

Some members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in Oyun Local Government Area of Kwara State have passed a vote of no confidence on the Chairman, Taye Olaniyi over alleged anti-party activities and other misconducts.

Addressing a news conference at Ilemona, the headquarters of Oyun, last Thursday, the Auditor of APC in the local government, Mrs Ayobami Oladipo alleged that Olaniyi has refused to carry most members of the executives along.

She said that the chairman did not attend the town hall meeting held before the primary election in Erin-Ile and refused to work with them during the primary election that produced Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq as the party’s gubernatorial flag bearer before he was elected as Governor.

According to her, numerous efforts made by the aggrieved members in resolving the issue have failed to achieve desired results.

“To substantiate Olaniyi’s disregard for the party, he never for once called for local government council meeting which was adequately provided by the party’s constitution.

“The exco was divided because of his misconduct and corrupt practices and instead of him to address these grievances; he went ahead holding meetings with selected members of the party that are not part of the council’s executive.

“To demonstrate our willingness to address the issue amicably, we visited the state party chairman, Omolaja Bashiru Bolarinwa more than twice on these allegations. He pleaded with us to endure till after the elections (but) the election had come and gone (and) at this point, we need to cry to the public to rescue us from the grip of Mr Taiye Olaniyi. We call on the party members, elders and various elected political leaders of our party from the council to the state to come and save our party from imminent disgrace and setback,” she added.

Similarly, the Secretary of APC in Oyun, Abdullateef Abioye, the Financial Secretary, Aratumi Tajudeen and another member, Razaq Kolawole claimed that Olaniyi deliberately stopped holding meeting with most members of the executives.

Also speaking, the party’s women leader, Alhaja Sikirat Aderibigbe, the party Organising Secretary, Niyi Ogundele said out of the 26 members of the APC executives in Oyun Local Government,  only 10 are making decisions while the remaining 16 were not carried along.

When contacted, the embattled chairman (Taye Olaniyi), said he would not want to join issues with those calling for his removal adding that the party has internal mechanism, to resolve any issue.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *