Kogi 2019: Gridlock as Gov Bello publicly sprays money on passersby 3days to poll


There was gridlock after the Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello,
sprayed money at Gwagwalada, along the Abuja – Lokoja road on
Bello, who was on his way from Abuja heading to Lokoja, with his long
convoy slowed down at Madam Mercy junction and brought out a wrapped
three bundles of N500 notes and threw them out at passersby.
According to Daily Trust online, the gridlock lasted for about ten
minutes, and the governor wind down the glass of his vehicle and
displayed eight of his fingers (4+4) while some motor park touts at
the popular Wazobia Park were seen hailing Bello as they rushed to
grab the money.
It was further observed that some pedestrians, petty traders by the
road side as well as some commercial motorcyclists abandoned their
motorcycles and scrambled for the money.
This development is coming just three days to the Governorship
election in Kogi State scheduled for Thursday.
Governor Bello who emerged the candidate of the All Progressives
Congress (APC) in the party primaries last week was endorsed by
President Muhammadu Buhari and national leader of the party, Asiwaju
Bola Ahmed Tinubu after a closed door meeting last weekend.
He is up against the candidate of the main opposition Peoples Democratic
Party (PDP), Engr Wada Musa
Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has
released the results of the primaries conducted by the registered
political parties for the November 16 governorship elections in
Bayelsa and Kogi states.
This is contained in 11-page and 10-page separate reports for Bayelsa
and Kogi states respectively.
According to the report, 64 parties conducted primaries that were
monitored by INEC in Bayelsa state with seven females emerging
victorious, while 59 parties in Kogi state conducted primaries that
were monitored and which produced four females among the candidates.
Speaking on the reports, INEC’s Director, Voter Education and
Publicity (VEP), Oluwole Osaze Uzzi, said that the lists were not the
list of candidates contesting the respective governorship elections.
“Some parties may chose, for whatever reason, not to sponsor any
candidate even after conducting primaries. It is all in our resolve as
a commission to proactively disclose information to the media and the
public. We had not previously officially published the result of our
monitoring,” Uzzi said.
In Kogi state, the perceived major parties, the ruling APC and major
opposition, PDP, has incumbent Governor Yahaya Bello, who is seeking a
second term mandate and Engr. Wada Musa respectively listed as winners
in their respective primaries. Also, the four female winners in the
Kogi State primaries are Barr. Justina Dalapo Abanida, African
Democratic Congress (ADC); Mrs. Harirat M. Yakubu, Labour Party (LP);
Grace Oluwatoyin Adepoju, Masses Movement of Nigeria (MMN) and Barr.
Natasha H. Akpoti, Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *