Soundcity Awards: Burna Boy emerge biggest winner, bests Davido, Naira Marley


Afrobeat-fusion singer, Burna Boy has emerged the biggest winner at this year’s Sound City MVP Award festival that celebrates African artists held at the Convention Centre, Eko Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, at the weekend.
The African Giant went home with three major awards including Best Artiste of the Year, Song of the year- Burns Boy (Killing Dem), and Best Male Artiste of the Year.
Other winners were Teni The Entertainer who won the Best Female Artiste of the year, Rexxi (Best producer) DJ Spinall (DJ of the year), Best hip hop song of the year- Khaligraph Jones, Excellence in sport- Anthony Joshua.
The annual music awards hosted by South Africa’s finest media personality Bonang Matheba, was attended by African artists all over the world.
Performers at the event were announced as Joeboy, Tiwa Savage, Diamond Platnumz, Prince Kaybee, Wizkid, Shatta Wale, Rema, Stonebwoy and so forth.
The awards reaffirmed Nigeria’s status as the kings of African music, as Burna Boy cemented his throne as the new king of afrobeats with his second successive win for African Artist of the year, while Naira Marley also went home with his first award.

List of categories and winners
Song of the Year:
Killin Dem – Burna Boy (NG) – Winner
African Artiste of the Year:
Burna Boy (NG) – Winner
Best Male MVP
Burna Boy (NG) – Winner
Best Female MVP:
Teni (NG) – Winner
Best New MVP:
Rema (NG) – Winner
Best Collaboration:
Gugulethu – Prince Kaybee [SA] – Winner
Best Pop:
JoeBoy [NG] – Winner
Best Hip Hop:
KHALIGRAPH Jones (KE) – Winner
Best Duo:
DopeNation (GH) – Winner
African Producer of the Year
Rexxie (NG) – Winner
African DJ of the Year:
DJ Spinall (NG) – Winner
Digital Artiste of the Year:
Davido [NG] – Winner
Listeners’ Choice:
Jealous – Fireboy DML (NG) – Winner
Viewers’ Choice:
Soapy – Naira Marley (NG) – Winner
Video of the Year:
49-99 – Tiwa Savage by Meji Alabi (NG) – Winner
Excellence in Philanthropy: DJ Cuppy – Winner
Excellence in Sports: Anthony Joshua – Winner
Excellence in Social Entrepreneurship and Digital Influence: Bright Jaja – Winner
Community and Socio-Political Development: Adebola Williams & Jude Jideonwo – Winner
Excellence in Music: Innocent Idibia (2Baba) – Winner

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *