Alalade’s consolatory goal for ABS FC on

Wasiu Alalade’s matchday 27 goals against MFM FC has been voted the VAT Wonder Goal 8 by over 2,800 fans that participated in the latest online poll.

MFM were already two goals up from strikes by Austine Ogunye and Sikiru Olatunbosun but with three minutes left on regulation time, the ABS FC forward struck. MFM would go on to win but 1,767 of the total 2,806 fans who participated in the poll considered Alalade’s strike as their preferred VAT Wonder Goal of the matchday.

It is the highest number of votes since the League Management Company (LMC) introduced the VAT Wonder Goal award. The ABS player led on all voting platforms, the website, and on Twitter, @LMCNPFL and is remarkably the only winner to poll over 1,000 votes.

FC Ifeanyiubah’s Chiijioke Alaekwe came second in the polls ahead of Kingsley Eduwo of Lobi Stars. While Alaekwe picked a total of 934 votes, Eduwo had 105 votes.

The three were shortlisted from the total 17 goals scored on the matchday. Alalade thus joins the exclusive rank of VAT Wonder Goal alumni, which has Ayo Saka of Rivers United, Friday Ubong of Akwa United and Salefu Ochowechi of Remo Stars.

Others are Pascal Seka of FC Ifeanyiubah, Ahmed Usman of Wikki Tourists, Shedrach Asiegbu of Abia Warriors and Rabiu Ali of Kano Pillars.

Winners receive a prize of N150,000 half of which is donated to a charity organization within the city where the club is located.

The VAT Wonder Goal award is an initiative of the LMC to promote NPFL Clubs and community engagement and support the tax education campaign of the Federal Inland Revenue Services (FIRS), which is partnering the LMC in the scheme.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button