Exclusive: Saka Isau, Issa Bawa, Fatigun, Taju Alabi, Obalola, others make APC Nat’l delegates list

By Mumini AbdulKareem 

Former Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice in the Kwara State, Barr. Saka Isau (SAN) where among prominent members of the state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) whose names appeared on the list of its elected national delegates from the 16 Local Governments, National Pilot can report.
Other members who made the list which was exclusively obtained yesterday at the party’s secretariat in Ilorin were former commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs during tenure of former governor Bukola Saraki, Hon Adamu Issa Bawa from Kaiama, immediate past elected chairman of Ekiti local government council, Hon Akintoba Fatigun, former special assistant on Security, Tajudeen Alabi, who hails from Offa.
The list also include former special adviser (Political Matters) to Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, Alhaji Yekeen Ilobu from Ilorin West, former chairman of Irepodun local government council, Alhaji Tajudeen Bada, and a prominent contractor in the state, Alhaja Aminat Saka Obalola whose son is the Special Assistant (Artisan), Oye Adetula, among others.
They were part of the 48-member list unveiled by the party at its non-elective congress held at the party’s secretariat, GRA Ilorin on Saturday after the affirmation by other delegates earlier elected from ward congresses.
Former member of the state House of Assembly, Hon Aliyu Monde (Kaiama) and his counterparts in Irepodun, Hon David Bamidele, Hon AbdulKadir Shuaib representing Patigi constituency, Alhaja Saadudeen Ajelanwa from Asa and Personal Assistant Political (South), to Governor Ahmed, Alhaji Yusuf Lekan Alabi, were also among the party’s national delegates.
Three names were elected from each ward across the 16 local governments who will form part of the state’s delegation to the National Congress slated for March, 2018.  
They are expected to predicate in determining the presidential primary of the party for the 2019 election and the congress will also be used to elect the national executive officers of the party as the tenure of the present exco will terminate next year.
Speaking shortly after the delegates were announced during a brief ceremony, the leader of the delegation from the party’s national secretariat to the congress, Muhammed Bigol, praised the organisation of the event adding that the huge attendant was a testimony of the party’s acceptance and dominance in the state.
According to him, the party members, supporters and leaders should remain steadfast to the philosophy of the APC which is centred around the wellbeing of the masses.    
In his comment, the state chairman of the APC, Hon Ishola Balogun-Fulani noted that programme was peaceful and rancour free adding that the conduct  of the congress has demonstrated that it has over 90 per cent of the voting populace and the party to beat in the state.
“With this, it is clear that there is no credible opposition to the APC in Kwara State,” he added.
The congress attracted a large number of the party’s leaders and members across the state including past and serving members of the Kwara State House of Assembly, past elected local government chairman, TIC members, former and serving women leaders, senatorial chairmen and government appointees among others.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button