Kwara LGs Election: Baraje, Balogun-Fulani, Baale, Dallas, others enter race

By Mumini AbdulKareem

List of interested aspirants for the November 4 local government election in Kwara  State swelled last night following  emergence of additional names from local government councils in the state.

National Pilot in its last edition had exclusively reported over thirty aspirants who have started subtle moves to emerge as the council chairmen of their respective local governments.

The additional names, this medium gathered last night, followed conclusion of stakeholders and caucus meetings in some of the affected councils which had hitherto not made finalised on the issue.

Those said to be seriously jostling for the seats include former elected council chairmen, their deputies, past and present TIC appointees, special advisers, former House of Representatives aspirants, former youth coordinators and speakers of councils among others.

The issue has reportedly caused disquiet and disaffection in some of the local governments where some aspirants have allegedly vowed “to throw everything into the race’ despite the zoning arrangement earlier agreed upon by party stakeholders.

Top sources, political office holders and supporters who confided in this medium last night on the matter noted that it has become the major and most important political discussion across the local governments.

Some of the aspirants contacted last night who had earlier confirmed their involvement to National Pilot said “more high profile names” are already lobbying leadership of the party to be allowed to enter the race.

In Ilorin west local government where the race has reportedly been zoned to Magaji Ngeri/Warah Osin/Oko-Erin wards, the additional name that emerged last night include son of the former National Acting Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party and former Special Assistant to Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, Biodun Baraje from Baboko ward. Hajia Aminat Omodara, who served as vice chairman during last elected tenure from Warah Osin and Ajadi AbdulKareem from Oko-Erin ward and one Aloma from Oko-Erin.

Other new entrants from Ilorin West as at last night include former Special Assistant on Religion to the governor, AbdulSalam Bello from Warah Osin and Hajia Jemilat Ishola Toyin, a former board member and a member of the newly inaugurated National Delegates of the APC also from Warah Osin.

Asa Local Government, which has been zoned to Afon district, it was gathered, has the contenders to include the immediate past and present TIC appointees, Hajia Kehinde Baale and Isiaka Oniboki, from Afon and Ibudo-Egba wards; a new entrant, Idris Ayinla (Afon) and a local government youth leader from Ogbondoroko whose name could not be ascertained before going to press and one Hajia Risikat Opakunle.

For Ekiti, which had allegedly been zoned to Obo-Eruku district, there is Reuben Olu Dada who was the vice chairman during the last elected council from Koro ward; former special adviser to Governor Ahmed on Forestry, Shayo Amos; a serving board member of Kwara Polytechnic, Harry Ilory and the Coordinator of Kwara South Youth Stakeholders, Comrade Yinka Dallas who some said is testing the hypothesis of the ‘Not Too Young To Run’ bill and Mrs Cecilia Ore, who is a former board member and ex-council chair. However, a source said Olu Dada is the most popular among the aspirants.

In Oke-Ero which had been zoned to Idofin districts comprising Idofin-Igbana and Idofin-Odoase, the community reportedly presented one Mr Olaiya from Odoase. Idofin Igbana is presently enjoying the slot of the House of Assembly and Youth Leader of the local government.

In Isin, the most popular candidate is said to be Mr  Ladi Omole from Ala ward with over 80 per cent  support of stakeholders and Femi Gbajumo from Ejidi ward.

In Moro, the contest has been zoned to Malete, Ajanaku and Jeun Kunu wards.

The aspirants include a two-time councillor, Saliu Umar (Ajanaku); Barr. Abdullahi Alikinla(Jeun kunu) and present TIC chairman, Olaiya Zubair.

From Edu, the candidate to beat was said to be the coordinator of Kwara North Youth Stakeholders from Tsaragi districts, Ibrahim Katun.

For Ilorin South, the aspirants, it was gathered  include son of the APC Chairman in the state, Ladi Balogun-Fulani, who was the supervisory councillor for Works during the tenure of Abdullatfeef Okandeji and a civil servant with NECO, youth leader of the council, Suleiman Alao and Oba Mahmoud who was a former special assistant on Rural Water.




Biodun Baraje

Hajia Aminat Omodara

Ajadi AbdulKareem

Aloma from Oko-Erin.

AbdulSalam Bello

Hajia Jemilat Ishola Toyin,


Hajia Kehinde Baale

Isiaka Oniboki

Idris Ayinla

Hajia Risikat Opakunle.


Reuben Olu Dada

Shayo Amos

Harry Ilory

Comrade Yinka Dallas

Mrs Cecilia Ore


Mr Olaiya


Mr. Ladi Omole

Femi Gbajumo


Saliu Umar

Barr. Abdullahi Alikinla

Olaiya Zubair.


Ibrahim Katun.


Ladi Balogun-Fulani

Suleiman Alao

Oba Mahmoud

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button