PDP Nat’l Reconciliation C’ttee: Oyedepo’s faction dominates list

By Kayode Adeoti

No fewer than 8 members of Iyiola Oyodepe-led faction of the People Democratic Party (PDP), Kwara State chapter have made the party’s National Reconciliation Committee list.

In compliance with the decision of the 74 National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting, the National Caretaker Committee (NCC) has approved standing Reconciliation and Disciplinary Committee and those of the forthcoming Non-Elective Special National Convention holding on Saturday, August, 2017.

Meanwhile, the release of the names for the committee has continued to generate controversy in the state chapter of the party among the two factional chairmen, Iyiola Oyedepo and Prince Sunday Fagbemi.

A source who confided in this medium yesterday night disclosed that the list was allegedly influenced by Oyedepo faction of the party saying the selection lacks merit.

He further noted that Oyedepo has succeeded in lobbying his ways with the leadership of the party at the national level.

Rex Olawoye, a member of the appointed committee and Publicity Secretary of Oyedepo’s faction debunked the allegation of any lobby by his boss.

According to him, God has used the list to confirm to the public that his boss remains the authentic chairman in the Kwara State chapter of the PDP.

“If Oyedepo is not recognized as the party chairman of the state chapter, how could his member dominate the list, God has used it to vindicate us, that is just the simple implication of it, and as for the local government election, we are aware of it and we are on top of the game, people are tired of the present government and that will better be demonstrated in the LG poll.

“We advocate for a level playing ground and the neutrality of the Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASIEC), this is will encourage people to participate in the poll,” he said.

Those that make the list from Oyedepo faction are former minister for Sports, honorable Bio Ibrahim, former Deputy Governorship candidate during the 2015 gubernatorial election in the state, Hon. Yinka Aluko, Hajia Farda Dankaka, Chief Rex Olawoye, Princess Bolanle Ogundiran, Engr Umar Shaaba, Barr Rasaq Alabi and Hajia Nana Shehu Suleiman.

Prof Abubakar Suleiman, Hajia Nda Saadu were those who were said to have emerged from Prince Sunday Fagbemi faction of the party.

The above members of the party will be inaugurated into; National Reconciliation Committee, National Disciplinary Committee, National Convention Planning Committee and National Convention Planning Sub-Committee tomorrow, 8th August, 2017.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button