Kwara LG Poll: Additional names emerge across LGs

The last may not have been heard as regard aspirants that have signified interest for the contest of the forthcoming local government election slated for November 4 it was gathered last night as fresh contenders continue to join the race

National Pilot in its three recent editions had exclusively reported over 60 aspirants who have started subtle moves to emerge as the council chairmen of their respective local governments.

The additional names, this medium gathered last night, followed conclusion of stakeholders and caucus meetings in some of the affected councils which had hitherto not been completed.

Those said to be seriously jostling for the yet to be elected seat include former elected council chairmen, their deputies, past and present TIC appointees, special advisers, former House of Representatives aspirants, former Youth coordinators and speakers of councils among others.

Top sources, political office holders and supporters who confided in this medium last night on the issue noted that it has become the major and most important political discussion across the local governments.

Some of the aspirants contacted last night who had earlier confirmed their involvement to Pilot Politics said “more high profile names” are already lobbying the leadership of the party to be allowed to enter the race.

A highly placed party source in Kwara central who spoke on the condition of strict anonymity told this medium last night that some of those that had earlier indicated interest in the race in Asa Local Government include ex-supervisory councillor and former TIC chairman in Asa who presently is the Director of Publicity of Mandate Office, Alhaji Kayode La-Kadir from Efue/Berikodo, ex-councillor and H.O.D Moblisation, ABS Mandate 2015, Mustapha  Ganiyu Babatunde from Otte/Ballah, an ex-councillor from Gambari/Ayekale, Abdulawahab Jagun, Suleiman Jawondo from Gambari/Ayekale Ward, who is an ex-Councillor, Hajia Fatimoh Kayode Sidiq, from Owode/Gbogun, who had served as ex-supervisory councillor of the council, AbdulGaniy Bolakale Issa, from Efue/Berikodo, an ex-Councillor,

It was however gathered that the leadership of the party in the council had amicably agreed for the zoning of seat to Afon ward in line with the position of the state leadership of the party.

In Isin, the contenders which also reportedly swelled over the week included Jacob Oyinloye from Olla, who holds B.A English from University of Ado-Ekiti and the sitting TIC chairman of the council, Femi Adeyemi from Edidi, a graduate of sociology from University of Ilorin, Prince Ladi Omole from Alla ward and Chief Michael Iyanda from Isanlu ward I and a former secretary of the council.

In Ifelodun which comprised of 10 wards, the seat has reportedly been zoned to Share/Oke-Ode district but Share ward 2,4,5 have not produced elected chairman before, same with Oke-Ode 2 and 3.

But Oke-Ode ward 2 reportedly stands a better chance because “it has not been favoured with political appointment before, a source said.

There are further complaints of some of the aspirants gunning for the seat who have allegedly spent up to 12 years at the council.

The council has however set up a screening committee on Sunday to screen all the aspirants.

In Moro with about ten aspirants, the contest has now reportedly been ceded to Malete/Ipaiye/Oloru constituency according to a source, with Malete said to be favoured in the new scheme of things.

The source said Alhaji Raheem Adisa was electe on the slot of Ipaiye while Shuaib Jimoh (Gbadungbadun) used the slot of Oloru then, leaving Malete with a better chance according to directive of the party to select from wards that had not had elected chairmanship appointment.

Those listed include Engineer Layiwola Akande, former board member and civil servant, Tunde Amao, Hajia Fatimoh Babatunde, former speaker of the council, Mumini Eleyele, staff of Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin, Saka Nuhu, all from Ajanaku.

 In Jeun Kunu, the list include former TIC chairman, Shittu Garuba Alikinla who is different from Barrister Abdullahi Alikinla also from the ward, ex-councilor, Murtala Sambo and another aspirant whose details could not be ascertained last night before the paper went to bed.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button