Crawford becomes first undisputed world champion in 12 years


WBC and WBO champion Terence Crawford won the WBA and IBF titles in victory over Julius Indongo
American light-welterweight Terence Crawford became the first undisputed four-belt world champion in 12 years by knocking out Namibia’s Julius Indongo.
WBC and WBO champion Crawford dropped Indongo with a left hook to the body in round three to claim the WBA and IBF titles in his home state Nebraska.
Middleweight Jermain Taylor was the last fighter to hold all four major sanctioning organisation belts in 2005.
“It means everything,” said Crawford, who is unbeaten in 32 bouts.
“When you start boxing when you’re seven years old, that’s your dream to become world champion – and after that you want to become something bigger than world champion.”
Crawford, 29, had already knocked down Indongo in the second round with a right to the body before a powerful left hook to the chest sent the 34-year-old to the canvas as he failed to beat the count.
On the undercard, British heavyweight Dillian Whyte stopped Malcolm Tann in three rounds to win his debut fight in the US.
The 29-year-old dropped American Tann, 39, four times in total to improve his record to 21 wins and one defeat, which was to compatriot Anthony Joshua in 2015.
Crawford could now move up to welterweight, and promoter Bob Arum has said the American may face the winner of the rematch between Manny Pacquiao and Jeff Horn.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button