Alalade’s lone goal sends ABS to Aiteo Cup Q/Final


Wasiu Alalade’s 47th minute strike was enough for Abubakar Bukola Saraki (ABS) Ilorin FC, to dump out Unicem Rovers of Calabar from the Aiteo Cup on Wednesday.

The hosts showed more intent in the early stages of the game but many of their attacking threats met resilient duo of Chinedu Ajanah and Ernest Governor in the heart of the ABS defense.

Adeshina Gata was again the most dangerous player on the pitch troubling the hosts’ defense every time the Saraki Boys move forward.

Franklin Anthony kept ABS in the game when he raced from the right back to make a vital interception to deny the hosts a goal in the 9th minute after they had beaten the Saraki Boys defenders.

There was not real threat from both ends as the two goalkeepers were called to action frequently in the first half.

Ajanah collided with Franklin Anthony in the 43rd minute and was withdrawn from the game due to a deep cut to his head from the collision with Ibrahim Ahmed replacing him in the process.

Alalade broke the deadlock two minutes into the restart when he connected Gata’s beautiful footwork to score the lone goal of the game.

Gata had dribbled through the flank to find his way to the opposition’s box before locating an unmarked Alalade who stylishly place the ball under the goalkeeper’s body to find the back of the net.

Gata and Alalade are the Saraki Boys Aiteo Cup leading scorers with three and two goals respectively.

Gata got an hat-trick against Adamawa United Feeders in a 6-3 in Ilorin in the round of 32 while Alalade scored the winning goal against Enyimba in the first round before his lone goal against Unicem Rovers on Wednesday.



Men’s Aiteo Cup Round of 16 Results

FC Abuja     0-0     Tornadoes

Akwa Starlets        1-2     Plateau Utd

Ngwa FC      1-3     Sunshine

Osun Utd     2-1     El Kanemi

Unicem Rovers      0-1     ABS FC

Akwa Utd     5-1     3SC

Ekiti Utd      1-1     Katsina Utd Feeders

IfeanyiUbah           3-1     Heartland

UEFA Champions League

Feyenoord    0 – 4   Man City

Liverpool     2 – 2   Sevilla

Porto            1 – 3   Besiktas

Real Madrid 3 – 0   APOEL

Leipzig         1 – 1   Monaco

Maribor       1 – 1   Spartak Moskva

Shakhtar     2 – 1   Napoli

Tottenham   3 – 1   Dortmund

Olympiakos  2 – 3   Sporting CP

Bayern         3 – 0   Anderlecht

Chelsea       6 – 0   Qarabag

Benfica        1 – 2   CSKA

Man Utd      3 – 0   Basel

Roma           0 – 0   Atlético

Barcelona    3 – 0   Juventus

Celtic           0 – 5   PSG

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button