7, lucky number for Eagles


The Super Eagles have qualified for the 2018 FIFA World Cup after playing seven matches, and wrapping up the ticket on 7th October 2017.
Those seven matches include the home-and-away preliminary round against Swaziland in November 2016.
After a 0-0 draw in Lobamba on 13th November, Moses Simon and Efe Ambrose got the goals that qualified Nigeria for the group phase at the Adokiye Amiesiamaka Stadium, Port Harcourt on 17th November 2015.
On 9th October 2016, they defeated Zambia 2-1 in Ndola with goals from Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho and; on 12th November 2016, they overcame Algeria 3-1 in Uyo. Two of the goals were by Victor Moses and the other by Captain Mikel Obi.
On 1st September 2017, African champions Cameroon suffered a 4-0 reverse in Uyo (the goals by Odion Ighalo, Mikel, Moses and Iheanacho), and three days later in Yaounde, the Eagles were forced to a 1-1 draw. Moses Simon scored Nigeria’s goal.
On Saturday, 7th October 2017, the Super Eagles got the job done, beating the Chipolopolo 1-0 with a 74th minute goal by Alex Iwobi.
Seven different players have scored Nigeria’s 13 goals of the series so far: Victor Moses (3), Mikel Obi, Alex Iwobi, Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho (2 each), Odion Ighalo and Efe Ambrose (one each).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button