Gani Adams becomes 15th Aare Ona Kakanfo 


Nineteen years after the death of the 14th Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale (MKO) Abiola, the National Coordinator of the Odua Peoples Congress (OPC), Otunba Gani Adams, yesterday, emerged the 15th holder of the revered title.
The Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III, approved this in a letter sent to Adams, who is now
the foremost War General of Yorubaland.
Abiola, it was gathered succeeded late Samuel Ladoke Akintola, the then Premier of the defunct Western region who was killed on January 15th, 1966 during the first Military coup.
Since the demise of Abiola on July 10, 1998, the position of the Aare Ona Kakanfo (Generalissimo), had been vacant until yesterday.
Personal Assistant to Adams, Segun Akanni who confirmed the development to newsmen in a telephone conversation last night said the OPC leader was happy to be honoured with the prestigious Yoruba traditional title.
Akanni said, “Yes. It is true. We just received the appointment letter this evening.
Also, in a short write up sent to DAILY POST while confirming the appointment, Akanni said, “God has done it. Thanks and honour be to Almighty God, the creator of Heaven and Earth.
“As from today Sunday 15th, October 2017, that man with many chieftaincy titles, The proud Son of Arigidi Akoko, The National Coordinator of Oodua People’s Congress, The Convener of Oodua Progressive Union, The Founder of Gani Adams Foundation, The Chief Promoter of Olokun Festival Foundation, The Chairman/CEO of Donyx Global Concept, Aare Gani Adams becomes The 15th Aare Onakakanfo of Yoruba land.
“Special thanks to His Imperial Majesty Oba Lamidi Adeyemi Olayiwola Atanda, The Alaafin of Oyo, Iku Baba Yeye Yeye”.
It became obvious at the weekend, during activities lined up to mark the 79th birthday of the foremost Yoruba traditional ruler, that Oba Adeyemi had made up his mind to bestow Otunba Adams with the traditional title.
On Saturday, Oba Adeyemi was overheard referring to the OPC leader as the new Are Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland at an event which took place at the historic Atiba Hall, Oja Akesan, Oyo.
Particularly, the foremost Yoruba traditional ruler was seen pointing to Adams as the new Are, while welcoming Chief Abiola Ogundokun to the event.
On the list of the previous holders of the revered title are; Kokoro Gangan of Iwoye, Oyapote of Iwoye, Oyabi of Ajase, Adeta of Jabata and Oku of Jabata. Other are; Afonja of Ilorin, Toyeje of Ogbomosho, Edun of Gbogun, Amepo of Abemo and Kurumi of Ijaye. Ojo Aburumaku of Ogbomosho (son of Toyeje of Ogbomosho), Latoosa of Ibadan and Lakode Akintola of Ogbomosho make up the list.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button