NPFL All-Stars retain Amapro football championship


Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL stars fought hard to retain their AMAPRO Football Championship title as they beat Amateur All-stars 1-0 at the Kwara state stadium under flood light on Saturday night.
The game began with much intensity as both teams showed their attacking prowess in search for the ultimate price, winning the title.
The premier league stars dominated the early part of the game and did threatened Saka Ajanaku, who was in goal for the Amateur All-stars.
The Amateur stars found their rhythm with thirty minutes into the game, as they controlled the middle of the park and also dictate the pace of the game but were unable to create any notable chance.
With Suraj Ayeleso a spectator all night, Jamiu Abdullahi’s effort which struck the cross bar with few minutes to the end of the first period is the closest the Amateur All-stars could reach.
Amateur All-star made four alterations at the start of the second period as, Shola Babatunde, Femi Balogun, Bala Muhammed and Saheed Kamorudeen, replaced Ibrahim Muhammed, Iyonu Muhammed, Abdullahi Ajetunmobi and Iliasu Isiaka respectively with three minutes into the second half.
Beach Eagles’ Captain and El-Kanemi Warriors midfielder, Isiaka Olawale won the Most Valuable Player of the championship.
Presenting the winner’s medal and trophy to the apex league stars, Secretary to the State Government, who represented by Mr. Gesinde Fregene commended the organisers, Phreestyle Sports for organising such a laudable program, which has further reduced the gap between the professional and non leaguers.
Chief Executive Officer, CEO of Phreestyle Sports, Shoggy Shodunnke thanked the sponsors and partners as well the participating players just as disclosed plans to make subsequent editions a global championship.
Dignitaries that graced the final include the General Manager of Radio Kwara, Alhaji Abdullateef Adebowale Adedeji, Director of Sports, Kwara State Sports Council, Mallam Tunde Kazeem, a former board member of Kwara FA, Pharmacist Olanrewaju Alege, Alhaji Modibo Sulu Gambari among others.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button