Ojo turns hero as Akwa Utd emerge Aiteo Cup Champions


Akwa United are the champions of the Nigeria Federation Cup now known as the Aiteo Cup after beating Niger Tornadoes 3-2 on penalties with both teams tied at 0-0 after regulation time.
Goalkeeper of Niger Tornadoes Aliko Mustapha stopped two spot kicks including one which went wide off his goal but his teammates failed to take advantage of his heroics.
Andrew Ikefe missed the vital spot kick which would have sealed the win for his side, pushing the shoot out into sudden death where Akwa United emerged victorious after Olorunleke Ojo who saved his first spot kick of the evening.
Gabriel Okechuckwu who missed a sitter during the course of the game made atonement for his miss during the game by burying his spot kick with ease to power his team to the trophy.
The win means Akwa United will pocket 25 million Naira as prize money in addition to a spot on the African continent where they will represent Nigeria in the CAF Confederations Cup.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button