Elected Kwara council chairmen for swearing-in, tomorrow


With Mumini Abdulkareem

The sixteen local government council chairmen that were recently elected under the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been scheduled for swearing-in tomorrow (Tuesday), National Pilot has learnt.
The exercise was initially slated for Monday (today) but was later shifted to Tuesday.
Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed is expected to perform the swearing-in ceremony slated for 10:00 am at the government house.
The APC candidates were declared winner for the chairmanship seats in the election held penultimate Saturday across the state.
Announcing the results, the chairman of Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWSIEC), Dr Usman Ajidagba said the ruling party won 181 councillorship seats while the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 8.
Speaking with National Pilot in separate interview shortly after casting their votes, some of the incoming chairmen spoke on their resolve to improve on council administration in the state.
The chairpersons of Ilorin West and South, Hajia Aminat Aromoke Omodara and Hajia Funmilayo Salau told this medium that they will prioritise education, staff welfare, security and school farming among others.
The tenure of the incoming council chairman will lapse in November 2020 after the mandatory three years of office.
The last council chairmen left office last year following which Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed appointed two caretaker committees that spend six months each.

…as Yinka Dallas sets up 5-man transition c’ttee
The newly elected council chairman for Ekiti local government in Kwara State, Yinka Dallas, has set up a 5-man transition committee in charge of the handing over and planning of the swearing-in ceremony scheduled for Tuesday.
The committee will work with the local government committee which include the Director of Personnel Management (DPM), council treasurers and all the HOD’s.
The committee is chaired by a former Commissioner for Sports during Governor Bukola Saraki’s tenure and a commissioner III in the local government, Hon Olu Ayeni.
The secretary of the committee is the chairman of the Forum of Ex-Councillors in the state, Comrade, Opeyemi Adeojo.
Other members, it was gathered last night, include Hon Ezekiel Ako, Hon Joseph Adebayp and one Engr Remi.
Yinka Dallas defeated the opposition PDP candidate with a landslide polling over twenty thousand votes.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button