Obaigbena, N’Pilot MD, Adedoyin, others make IPI World Congress c’ttees


Preparations for Nigeria’s hosting of the 2018 World Congress and General Assembly of the International Press Institute (IPI) have kicked off with the constitution of  nine planning committees.
The committees, set up at an extraordinary meeting of Nigerian media stakeholders held last week in Lagos are: the Local Organising Committee and the committees on Finance; Sponsorship; Programme and Events; Media and Publicity; Transport and Logistics; Contact and Protocol; Venue and Accommodation; and Security.
The LOC is headed by the President of the Newspaper Proprietors’ Association of Nigeria, Prince Nduka Obaigbena, with Mallam Kabiru Yusuf and Mallam Garba Shehu as Deputy Chairmen.
The Secretary, IPI Nigeria, Raheem Adedoyin, will serve as Member/Secretary.
Speaking at the Stakeholders meeting, Obaigbena said the Nigerian media was ready to host the world.
He said: “We have the whole world to host in six months; and we are prepared to host the world in six months, to showcase the best of Nigeria and the best of Africa.”
Obaigbena also promised that the host committee “would promote an agenda on issues that matter to us (Nigerians) and that matter to Africa”.
The committees are to meet in December to fashion out a work plan and submit their reports to the LOC in January.
Other members of the LOC include Mallam Ismaila Isa, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Mallam Wada Maida, Lady Maiden Ibru, Dr. Kalu Orji Kalu, Sam Nda-Isaiah, John Momoh, Mallam Yakubu Muhamned, Bayo Onanuga, Tonnie Iredia and Sir Folu Olamiti.
Also in the LOC are Funke Egbemode, Waheed Odusile, Victor Ifijeh, Emma Agu, Mallam Mohamned Idris and Eric Osagie.
Heads of the other committees, their deputies and secretaries are:
Finance: Mallam Ismaila Isa Chairman), Mallam Kabiru Yusuf (deputy chair), Mr. Waheed Odusile (Member/ Secretary). Sponsorship: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Chair), Prince Nduka Obaigbena( deputy chair), Victoria Ibanga( Member/ Secretary). Media and Publicity; Dr. Tonnie Iredia( Chairman), Mr. Eric Osagie( deputy chair), Mr. Yemi Ajayi (Member/Secretary) and National Pilot MD/Editor-in-Chief, Alh. Billy Adedamola, among other committees.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button