Baraje makes APC’s Nat’l Convention C’ttee

Stories by Mumini Abdulkareem

Member of the Board of Trustees (BoT) of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and top chieftain of the party in Kwara State, Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje has been appointed into the party’s National Convention Committee.
The list of the committee which comprised of past and serving governors of the party, senators and members of the House of Representatives among top party stalwarts was released by the party secretariat on Sunday in Abuja ahead of its elective convention scheduled to hold before June 2018.
The former PDP National Secretary is the only Kwaran whose name appeared on the list which was personally signed by the National Organising Secretary of the party, Osita Izunaso, he is expected to work with other 10 governors, ministers and youth.
Apart from Baraje, no other Senators or House of Representatives member from Kwara made the party’s committee.
The committee is chaired by the Jigawa State Governor, Badaru Abubakar, who would be assisted by the Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, with Ben Uwajumogwu as Secretary.
The APC had resolved to hold a convention and congresses to elect new officials after President Muhammadu Buhari withdrew his support for tenure extension of the incumbent officials.
The president had claimed that his decision was to save the party from legal issues ahead of the 2019 general elections. However, the move was seen as being made to pacify the party’s national leader, Bola Tinubu, who has had a stormy relationship with the national chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, who was the prime beneficiary of the earlier tenure extension.
Other members include Governor Nasir el-Rufai, Governor Yahaya Bello, Governor Abiola Ajimobi, Senator Danjumo Goje, Senator Adamu Abdullahi, Senator Adamu Aliero, suspended senator Ovie Omo Agege and Hon Femi Gbajabiamila among others

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button