Kroos named German player of the year


Real Madrid midfielder Toni Kroos has been named the German footballer of the year for the first time after missing out to Philipp Lahm in 2016-17, according to report Kicker magazine.
Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsan of Olympique Lyon was voted as German female footballer of the year for the second straight year.
Kroos was a vital player for Real Madrid last season, helping the La Liga club to win the Champions League in May, he had 185 votes from spots journalist ahead of Freiburg striker Nils Petersen 39 votes and Schalke’s Brazilian defender Naldo has 38 votes.
Kroos was unable to help Brazil past the group stage in the World Cup,
“Footballer of the year – that’s a prize you do not get so easily – and most importantly not everyone can win it,” Kroos said in a statement.
Jupp Heynckes was voted coach of the year for leading Bayern Munich to the Bundesliga title in May before retiring.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button