KWSG to commence 2019 budget preparation, Sept


By Mike Adeyemi

The Kwara State Government will begin groundwork for the 2019 fiscal budget by September, National Pilot has learnt.

The state Commissioner for Economic Planning, Alhaji Wasiu Odewale, disclosed this during an interview with Pilot Business on Wednesday.

According to him, the 2019 budget which will be tagged, ‘Legacy Budget’ will lead to massive investment on security and social infrastructural development of the state.

He added that the 2019 budget will be zero based as a new administration will take over present government’s expenditures next year.

The commissioner who said the 2019 budget is a policy direction, added that the state Governor, Dr. Abdulfatahi Ahmed would hold a meeting with stakeholders on Tuesday, 18th September 2018.

The stakeholders expected at the meeting he said include representatives of all MDAs, state House of Assembly members, permanent secretaries, commissioners, head of parastatals and members of the public.

“At the seating, the Governor will tell them the direction of 2019 budget as that will be the last budget for this administration, we should be able to highlight and assess projects on ground,” Adewale added.

He noted that the early commencement of budget preparation will allow for its proper implementation, saying by statutory provision the appropriation bill for the following year suppose to be before the legislature by September-October, so as to give ample time for scrutiny.

“The importance of commencing a budget on time is for people to feel its impact. In order for us to sustain what we have started last year i.e a budget cycle of January to December, we want to sustain that tempo to avoid rushing as electioneering year is around the corner.

“We have a central budget committee comprises of people drawn from difference ministries, with the Commissioner for Economic Planning as the chairman, Commissioner for Finance as the vice chairman, Accountant General of the state, Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Finance and Permanent Secretary, Planning.

Others include, Permanent Secretary, Bureau of Statistics, Permanent Secretary, Welfare, S.A Budget Monitoring, Director, Staff Matters and all the chairmen of committee of MDAs.”

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button