Aiteo Cup:  Kwara utd, Enyimba, Pillars through to next round


Holders Akwa United moved into next round of the Aiteo Federation Cup following a comprehensive 7-0 drubbing of amateur club, Hope of Glory in their round of 64 tie at the Sharks Stadium, Port Harcourt on Sunday.
In Ibadan, Kwara United defeated hard fighting All Stars FC 2-1, while their counterparts, ABS Ilorin FC were defeated by Kebbi United in Minna, via penalties after 1-1 draw.
Former champions, Shooting Stars Sports Club of Ibadan and Heartland Football Club of Owerri have however crashed out of the competition following defeats to Supreme Court and Confine FC respectively.
Akwa United showed their class as they completely outclassed Hope of Glory with AniekemeAsuquo grabbing a hat-trick while the duo of Victor Mbaoma and Ezekiel Bassey scored a brace apiece.
Shooting Stars lost 5-4 on penalties to fellow Bet9ja Nigeria National League side, Supreme Court in Benin. The game ended in a 0-0 draw after 90 minutes.
Nationwide League one side, Cofine FC created one of the biggest upsets of the round by edging out Heartland 4-2 on penalties after the game finished 1-1 at regulation time.
Plateau United sailed into the next round after beating Zabgai FC of Bauchi 2-0 in Kaduna, while Enyimba also defeated WasiuAlabewewe 3-0.
Kano Pillars, Abia Warriors and Sunshine Stars also survived scary moments to book their spots in the next round.
Abia Warriors rallied back from a goal down to beat Smart City FC 2-1, while Sunshine Stars also came from a goal down to secure a 3-1 victory against FC Ifeanyiubah Feeders.
Kano Pillars were also made to work hard for their 3-2 success over Ngwa FC.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button