House of Reps Bye-Election: Ben Duntoye, Matthew Babaoye, Seyi Adigun in race to replace Funke Adedoyin


By Mumini AbdulKareem

Less than five weeks after the demise of the lawmaker representing Irepodun/Isin/Ekiti/Oke-Ero federal constituency at the National Assembly, Hon Funke Adedoyin, the race for who succeeds her has already commenced, National Pilot, can report.

This development is coming on the heels of the reported zoning of the slot to Ajase II in Irepodun local government by the Kwara State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Adedoyin died on September 28, 2018 at the peak of preparations for her re-election as a member of the 8th legislature.

Following her demise, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed November 17, 2018 for the bye-election to fill the vacant seat in Kwara State.

Those allegedly in the race, our reporter learnt last night include the Chairman Committee on Works in the Kwara State House of Assembly, Hon Matthew Babaoye and former commissioner for Information in Kwara State, Comrade Ben Duntoye.

However, Duntoye and Babaoye are from Oro ward I and Oro ward II respectively in Irepodun.

From Ajase II where late Adedoyin hailed from, it was gathered that a former House of Assembly and one time chairmanship aspirant in Irepodun, Dr Seyi Adigun has also indicated interest.

A former Liaison Officer and Youth Empowerment Coordinator for Irepodun, Hon Olu Adedayo was also said to be in the race last night.

According to a source who spoke on the matter last night, Adigun’s interest is predicated upon his argument that Ajase II where the late princess Adedoyin hailed from should be allowed to complete the term.

“Yes the race for who replaces late Funke Adedoyin has already commenced in earnest and interested parties have started to reach out to relevant stakeholders.

“The ticket has been zoned to Ajase II to allow for her tenure to be completed by somebody from that ward and the race has started in earnest. But other interested contestants from Oro ward I and II and other wards in Irepodun have joined the race.

“INEC has announced the vacant seat and has subsequently released the timetable for the bye-election. That means election must be conducted within 30 days from the date of the announcement”, the source added.

Hon Funke Adedoyin until her death was the only female federal lawmaker from Kwara State.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *