Nation-Wide League fines MAO FC N100,000 for fielding ineligible players


The Disciplinary Committee of the Nation-Wide League One in Ilorin centre has disqualified MAO FC of Osun State for using ineligible players during the Division Three Playoff game played on Wednesday at the Kwara State Stadium, Ilorin.

The Nation-Wide League One Division Three Playoff game, which started in Ilorin on Monday, 11th ended on Wednesday 14th with three teams in attendance, MAO FC, SETRACO FC and Yakadi Boys of Minna.

According to the letter of the disciplinary committee dated 14, November, 2018 and signed by Olushola Ogunowo, Chief Operating Officer of NLO, said Mao FC used unregistered two players, (Ayonubi Anuoluwapo with LIC. NO. 3487 and Toki Taofeeq, LIC. NO. 3485).

“The NLO Secretariat after confirming that the due diligent was followed in the procedure of submitting the protest as follow:
That the players licensed was tampered with by changing the original picture of the player and impose another player.

It was evidence that MAO FC, Osun committed a fraud by fielding 2 unregistered players thereby violating rules and regulations of NLO article 3.01(7).

The committee being guided NLO rules and regulations article 6.01(16) decided as follows:
(The match SETRACO FC Abuja vs MAO FC, Osun be awarded to SETRACO FC Abuja with three points and goals).
(MAO FC be fined the sum of N100,0000. To serve as deterrent to others and as stated in the NLO rules and regulations).

After the decision of the disciplinary committee, SETRACO FC Abuja has emerged the winner of Ilorin centre.

However, the decision of the disciplinary committee almost caused problem as Yakadi Boys of Minna threatened the organiser, using the name of the member of NFF’s Executive Board Member, Ahmed Yusuf Fresh, insisting that the Niger State FA Chairman would use his power to upturn the NLO decision.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *