10 new chess clubs join Kwara Association


Kwara State Chess Association has confirmed that it has registered no fewer than 10 new chess clubs into the state association.

The PRO of the association, Toyin Saheed stated that the development came up as a result of the ground work did by the new board, headed by Alhaji Abdulrasheed Aiyelabegan to spread the game to the grassroots.

The eight clubs, which includes schools are Ilorin Chess academy, Dalegan chess club, Kupatana chess academy, FGS Ilorin, St. Joseph Nursery and Primary School, Sapati International School, Adesoye College, Offa Grammar School and University of Ilorin.

Speaking at the meeting held on Sunday at the Indoor Sports of the Kwara stadium complex, Ilorin, the Chairman, Rasheed Aiyelabegan said new board will work assiduously to spread the tentacles of the game to all the schools in the state.

The association while drawing their programme for this year set up two committees, which include technical and tournament committees that will be saddled with the responsibility of training and retraining of the athletes and activities of the association.

They also fixed July 2019 for the date to organise Kwara chess open championship among the junior and senior categories.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button