Cabinet: Abdulrazaq forwards ex-NBA chair, Jawondo, 5 additional commissioner-nominees to KWHA

Plus profile of nominees


By Mumini AbdulKareem

Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara State yesterday sent additional six commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.
The governor’s request was contained in his correspondence to the House and read at plenary on Wednesday by the Speaker, Hon Danladi Yakubu-Salihu.
Recall that the Governor had on September 17 presented four female commissioner-nominees including 26-year-old Joanna Kolo, whose screening and confirmation is yet to be carried out by the House.
The new nominees are Barr. Ayinla Jawondo-Salman from Asa Local Government Area, Lafia Aliyu Kora-Sabi who hails from Baruten, Dr Raji Rasaq from Ekiti and Architect Aliyu Mohammed Saifudeen (Kaiama).
Others are Wahab Femi-Agbaje (Whyte) from Offa and Muritala Olanrewaju, who hails from Oyun.
The Speaker, after announcing the names of the nominees, said the date for the screening would be communicated to them in due course.
But in a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Rafiu Ajakaye, the profile of the fresh nominees were given as follows:

Salman Jawondo: He has 29 years of post-qualification experience as a lawyer. Jawondo is almost synonymous with the longstanding struggle to change the political status quo in Kwara with his numerous court cases and advocacy to challenge decisions of the previous administrations.
Barrister Jawondo is an alumnus of the University of Lagos where he read Law between 1986 and 1989. He was at the Nigerian Law School between 1989 and 1990.  A disciplinarian and no-nonsense lawyer, he is a member of the Legal Practitioners’ Disciplinary Committee in the North Central Zone and was Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ilorin Branch, between 2009 and 2011. He is the founder of the Jawondo &Co., Legal Practitioners. He is from Asa Local Government Area of Kwara State.

Lafia Aliyu Kora-Sabi: A former chairman of Baruten Local Government and a grassroots politician, Kora-Sabi has a Bachelor’s degree in Education (Guidance and Counselling), Post Graduate Diploma in Public Administration and Masters degree in Public Administration from Universities of Ado Ekiti and Ilorin, among others. He taught in various schools and served as a senior administrative officer in Baruten local government for nearly two decades. Sabi, who was born in 1970, is from Yashikira town of Baruten Local Government area of the state.
Raji Raza: Born in 1979, Razaq is the Medical Director of the Comprehensive Health Centre Agwara, Agwara Local Government Area of Niger State. A polyglot, Dr Razaq attended the University of Ilorin for his Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery between 2000 and 2006; Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, for his Master in Public Health between 2015 and 2017. He was the NYSC Chief Medical Director, Kebbi State Camp Clinic in 2007 and an aspirant for the House of Representatives in Ekiti/Oke Ero/Irepodun/and Isin Federal Constituency. He hails from Osi in Ekiti Local Government area of the state.

Aliyu Mohammed Saifudeen: Architect Saifudeen hails from Kaiama Local Government area of Kwara State. He holds a Bacherlor’s degree in Architecture and Master of Science in Architecture — both from the University of Jos between 1993 and 1999. He is a member of the Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA) and Architects Registration Council of Nigeria (ARCON). Saifudeen has worked with various local and multinational firms in his area of expertise, including French-owned Bouygues Nigeria Limited where he was Assistant Design Manager; Lebanese Sageto Limited where he was Project Coordinator; and Crushed Rock Industries Nigeria Limited owned by Germans. He is the Managing Partner at Constyle Services Limited; Chairman of Fiasminat Limited; a partner at Kab Development Services. Saifudeen is an accredited resource person with the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) and a member of the Education Sub-Committee of the Nigerian Institute of Architects.

Murtala Olarewaju: Murtala Olarewaju is a grassroots politician, an administrator and a teacher. He attended Federal College of Education Kontangora for his National Certificate of Education; Kwara State Polytechnic for his Higher National Diploma; and Ladoke Akintola University for his Master in Public Administration. He also has Teacher Grade II Certificate from New Bussa Teachers College Niger State. He taught at various schools between 1982 and 1998. He was an administrative officer with the Kwara State Local Government Service Commission between 1998 and 2017. He retired as Deputy Director of Administration in 2017. Olarewaju hails from Ijagbo town in Oyun Local Government Area of the state.

Wahab Agbaje (Whyte): A successful businessman and administrator, Agbaje holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration from Ladoke Akintola University. He also bagged Higher National Diploma in Accounting from Kwara State Polytechnic and National Diploma in Accounting from Federal Polytechnic, Nasawara.
Agbaje is the Managing Director of Whyte and Associates Nigeria Limited. He is the Community Representative of the Governing Council of Federal Polytechnic Offa. A senior member at the Institute of Diplomacy and Conflict Management, Agbaje has had at least 12 years experience in educational and business administration, conflict resolution, agriculture, revenue mobilisation, construction and contract negotiations. Whyte, as he is fondly called, has been a grassroots politician since 1990. He was a member of the Contact and Mobilisation Committee for President Muhammadu Buhari Campaign Organisation (2018) and Director of Contact and Mobilisation Committee of the Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq Campaign Organisation (2018). Agbaje was National Vice Chairman of the defunct All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) and was elected state chairman of the party in 2006. He was also councillor-elect Shawo South West Ward, Offa Local Government in 1996.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button