JAMB Tourney: Defending champions secures comfortable victory

...three schools screened out


The defending champions ‘Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria, Defeated Federal University of Petroleum in Group D on Tuesday at the ongoing 3rd Edition of Jamb Tertiary institutions football competition, in a keenly contested match which saw both teams trying to take the lead right from the start of the match.
The defending champions having most chances but found it difficult to break through their opponent defence.
After making several attempts to score, Salisu got the break through for the defending champions in the 23rd minute while he could have double their lead three minutes later but his effort went wide off the post.
In the 63rd minute, Idris doubled Nuhu Bamali’s advantage smashing the ball to the roof of net from six yard and held on to the victory.
Earlier in the day at the Unilorin Sport complex, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria played out a goalless draw against Federal College of Education Technical, Gombe.
ABU’s goalkeeper Umma was apparently at his best as he made number of saves among which is a spot kick awarded to Federal College of Education for a foul inside the box.
In the other Group B game, Federal Polytechnic Ede were walk-overed over Ramat Polytechnic Maiduguri with Ekiti State University also walk-overed over Niger State College of Education in Group C.
At the main bowl of the Kwara state stadium complex Ilorin, University of Ilorin also walk-overed Federal Polytechnic Nekene from Imo State in the last Group C game.
Federal Poly Bauchi Defeated Glory Land Institute by a lone goal in Group A, while in Group D, Kwara State College of Education thrash Federal College of Education by five goals to nil.
After concluding the group stage matches, the top two teams from each group will qualify to the quarter final stage.

…three schools screened out

Three institutions were screened out of the third edition of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) sponsored Tertiary Institutions Football competition for failing to fulfill the participation requirements.
The Chairman of the Main Organising Committee (MOC), Abdulkadri Shuaib Akanbi had earlier charged the 16 participating institutions to register bonafide students with JAMB registration numbers for the competition.
Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri, Niger College of Education, Minna and Federal Polytechnic, Nekede were disqualified for failing to provide the necessary registration requirements for their players.
Five matches were however, played yesterday, with Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi, Federal University of Petroleum, Efurum, and Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria recording wins.
At the Main-Bowl of the Kwara State Stadium Complex, Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi defeated Kwara State University by a lone goal, while Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria walked over disqualified Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri.
University of Ilorin also walked over Niger College of Education.
Federal University of Petroleum, Efurum defeated Federal College of Education, Obudu, in one of the matches played at the University of Ilorin, and in the last match at the Main-Bowl, Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic defeated College of Education, Ilorin 2-1.
Matches continues at both the University of Ilorin Sports Complex and Kwara State Stadium Complex.
The group matches  rounded off yesterday, while the knock-out stages begin today.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button