Giant killers Bayelsa United clinch historic Aiteo Cup

…as Bayelsa Queens wins women version

Second division club Bayelsa United will represent Nigeria in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup after they shocked favourites Nasarawa United in the Aiteo Cup Final today.
Bayelsa United beat Nasarawa United 4-3 on penalties after fulltime scores stood at 2-2 inside the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.
Chinedu Ohanachom and Aliyu Abdullahi scored for Nasarawa United, while Okardi Inikurogha and Emo James scored for Bayelsa United.
In the penalty shootout, NPFL joint top scorer, Silas Nwankwo, failed to score his own spot kick.
It is the first time Bayelsa United will win the cup competition.
Nasarawa United will be the fourth Premier League club Bayelsa United will knock out in this competition after they also accounted for Enugu Rangers, Kano Pillars and Lobi Stars.
Bayelsa Queens won the women’s version of the competition courtesy of a 4-2 victory over FC Robo.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button