Constituents threaten to recall lawmaker, Hon. Ibrahim over poor performance

By Mike Adeyemi

Constituents of Owode/ Onire Constituency in Asa Local Government Area of Kwara State under the aegis of Conference of Concerned Constituents have threatened to recall its Member, over poor performance and dereliction of legislative duties.

The recall threat was contained in a statement made available to newsmen on Sunday after a crucial meeting held in Ilorin, the state capital, notifying the general public of their commencement of a recall process against Hon. Ambali Ibrahim Igbokedu who represents Owode/Onire Constituency at the Kwara State House of Assembly.

“As citizens who demand good governance and a fair deal, we must not only hold our representatives to account, but also raise our voices especially against instances of poor performance.

“Other constituencies are enjoying dividends of democracy because it is a fact that a good representative should be the unbridled advocate of his or her constituents, but in our situation in Owode/Onire, the reverse is invariably the case.

“Since his inauguration in June 2019, we have been keen watchers of his conducts and performances which are rather characterized by the pursuit of personal gains; insensitivity to Constituents’ plight; lack of consultation, and poor communication with constituents.”

They alleged that the APC ward congress held in most of our wards was marred with many irregularities because the Hon is desperate for his second term ambition.

The constituents in the statement said the recall process had begun, hence called on all citizens of the Constituency to support the genuine move aimed at engendering good governance.

They also noted that the performance of the Governor in every sector of the economy is fantastic, which is audible to the deaf and visible to the blind and this necessitated their resolve to give their total supports to the Governor in delivering the dividends of democracy to every part of the State

The meeting was attended by many personalities from the constituency which includes, Hon. Ajidagba Mutiu, Com. Olomigbona Hakeem, Com. Usman Abdulganiyu Akopari, Com. Abdulganiyu Salaudeen Ago, Com. Jambudo Jimoh AbdulRasheed, Com. Adisa Akani Muritala.

Others includes Dr. Ayinla Kuranga, Com. AbdulAzeez Jimoh, Com. Kazeem Muhammad, Mrs. Fumilayo Obalowu and Mrs. Taibat AbdulSalam.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button