Nigeria, Ghana, Rwanda… the 20 African countries hit by UAE visa ban

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) immigration authorities have announced a ban on visa applications to 20 African countries including Nigeria.
On Friday, the UAE government announced a ban on visa issuance to Nigerians, noting that rejection notices would be sent in batches to applicants.
According to BBC, a notice issued by the UAE government said there will be no visa applications for citizens from 20 African countries.
The notice also issued to trade partners, travel agents and authorities directs that “all applications should be rejected”.
“This is to inform you that we will not be posting 30 days visa applications for these nationalities effective today October, 18, 2022,” the notice reads.
“Countries affected by the visa ban include; Ghana, Uganda, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Liberia, Burundi, Republic of Guinea, Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros and Dominican Republic.
“Any applications from the above-mentioned countries will be sent back or cancelled.”
Earlier this month, the Ethiopian government scrapped visa-on-arrival for Nigerians.
The country also mandated Nigerians and citizens from 42 other African countries to produce their yellow fever vaccination cards at any of its borders.
Meanwhile, in 2021, the UAE banned foreign airlines from airlifting Nigerian passengers into the country.
To this effect, Ethiopian Airlines, Turkish Airlines, and other airlines connecting transit flights from their hubs into Dubai refused to board Nigerians.
For several months in 2021, Nigeria and UAE battled several diplomatic rows in aviation.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button