History: Kwara Gets First Female CP as Adelesi Succeeds Odama

History: Kwara Gets First Female CP as Adelesi Succeeds Odama



It was a new dawn at the kwara state police command on Friday as a female commissioner was appointed to take charge of the Command and oversee the security wellbeing of the state.

The new Sheriff in town, CP Adelesi E Oluwarotimi is the first female commissioner in the history of the Command. She succeeds Paul Odama who is being redeployed following his promotion as Assistant Inspector-General of Police a fortnight ago.

Adelesi’s appointment was announced along with seven other Police Commissioners by Police Service Commission(PSC ) in statement by its spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani on Friday.

The statement said PSC has approved the appointment and deployment of eight Commissioners of Police to State Commands in the country.

Adelesi who is making history by being the first female police commissioner in kwara state is however not new to the state police command. Sources at the Command informed National Pilot that she had served as deputy commissioner when the Acting IGP, Kayode Egbetokun was the kwara CP. ” She was the DCP Administration”, revealed the source.

It was in kwara she was promoted Commissioner of Police following which she was redeployed to Lagos State Command as CP General Investigation, before her new appointment on Friday.

Adelesi’s crime-fighting capacity and combat readiness was affirmed by officers at the Command who had worked with her. She was described as diligent and no-nonsence officer, qualities which earned her alias-, “Iron Lady”.

Adelesi was however not the only female commissioner appointed on Friday. The other one was CP Augustina Ogbodo who goes to Ebonyi State.

PSC in its statement commended the acting Inspector General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun for adhering to its latest policy on gender sensitivity in his recommendation.

The Commission however expects that the Inspector General in his subsequent proposals will include more Officers from the North-East and South-East geopolitical zones that have yet to record the benchmark of 15 percent as decided at its last plenary meeting.

The newly appointed state commissioners of police include Godwin Aghaulor, now CP Borno State Command; Adebola Ayinde Hamzat, CP Oyo State Command; and Samuel Titus Musa, CP Kebbi State Command.

Also appointed were Aderemi Olufemi Adeoye, CP Anambra State Command; Stephen Olarewaju, CP Imo State Command; and Alamatu Abiodun Mustapha, CP Ogun State Command.

The Commission’s Chairman, Dr. Solomon Arase, CFR, a retired Inspector General of Police, said the postings as recommended by the acting Inspector General of Police were, on average, fair and commended the IGP for the inclusion of women.

Dr. Arase advised that the acting IGP consider the disadvantaged geo-political zones while forwarding subsequent proposals for the Commission’s ratification.





Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button