KWIRS holds award ceremony



…as Awodun tasks staff on commitment

By Matthew Denis

In effort to encourage high level of commitment and dedication to work, the Executive Chairman of Kwara Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS), Dr. Muritala Awodun, gave out awards to outstanding staff of the agency as part of activities to mark the 2018 End of Year event on Saturday.

The event which took place at Arca Santa Centre, Ilorin had in attendance dignitaries from across the state.

Speaking at the ceremony, the Chairman noted that the programme is aimed at appreciating God for His guidance and protection throughout the 2018 year and to recognise the contributions of staff and various stakeholders towards a successful operation.

He said, “With this year’s event themed: ‘People and process’, we want to recognise the effort put in by our staff, departments and stakeholders to improve Internally Generated Revenue in the state.

“This is targeted at encouraging them to work tirelessly for the 2019 fiscal year and to acknowledge support accorded us by various stakeholders in the state.

The KW-IRS boss further noted the awards are in different categories such as the Best Customer Service staff, Best Staff for the 2018 year, Best Driver, Best Maintenance Staff,  Best Performing  Department in terms of Community Impact Programme,  Tax Remittance among others.

Others are the Most Supportive Security agency which was awarded to the Department of State Security,  Most Supportive Ministry given to the Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development.

Also, the most Cooperative Award in terms of Tax payment was given to the Igbo Community, Most Performing Bank was given to First Bank PLC, and the International Tobacco Company was awarded the Most Timely Remittance Organisation.

For the media category, The Best Male Journalist was awarded to the correspondent of TVC, Ibrahim Alege, TVC also bagged the Most Supportive Media Organisation, the Best Female Journalist was given to Mrs.  Shikirat of BusinessDay, the Media Officer in public service was given to Mr. Lawal from the Ministry of Information and Communication while The Herald Newspaper was given Best Print Media of the year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here