Pandemonium as NAKSS dissolves electoral c’ttee


The National Association of Kwara State Students (NAKSS) has dissolved the electoral committee earlier set-up by the Senate President, Nuru Muhammad for the upcoming election.

This was part of the resolution reached at the Congress held at Idayat Tolibeen Nursery and Primary School in Ilorin, yesterday.

According to the statement signed by the President of NAKSS, Oyedepo Abdulafiz and the Director General, Mohammad Yusuf, the President described the committee as illegal, adding that the Senate President of the association lacked the constitution power to setup any electoral committee hence the need for the dissolution.

He, however, set-up an electoral committee ahead of the forthcoming election while calling on the police and other security personnel to take charge of the situation to avert calamity in the state.

In line with the text, letters and spirit of our sacrosanct constitution, having acknowledged that the congress is the apex body and highest decision making organ of our union, the congress of the union took position on some ongoing controversies at this critical period. Here are the resolutions of the congress held at Idayat Tolibeen Nursery and Primary School on 3rd of January 2018.

“The congress in line with article Eight (8) section two sub-section V, the congress suspended article 8 sections 2 sub-section IV.

“In accordance to article 8 section 2 woman figure III, the congress dissolved the illegally constituted Hawwal acting led Electoral Committee and comrade light led electoral committee. The congress declared their  illegal and described the activities unconstitutional and urge security personnel to stop their further activities on election process.

“The congress mandated the two dissolved electoral committee to submit all money and document to the newly constituted electoral committee by the congress within 48 hours.

“The congress condemned the act of NAKSS Senate President for his refusal to call for Senate Sitting to ratify the list sent to the Senate Council by the executive.

“The congress ratified the 9 man committee nominated by the executive council of the association while the congress appeals to them to hold election before the end of January 2018.

“The congress commended the sagacity and patriotic stand of Comrade Olatunji Hassan Taiwo of Unilorin and two other members who resigned from the unconstitutional Hawwal-led committee.

Members of the newly constituted committee are: Habeeb Adeshina (Unilorin, Olaniyi Yusuf (OAU), Adeshina Jamiu (LASU), Yusuf Awwal (Kwarapoly), Muritalah Bau (ATBU, Bauchi) Abdulkareem Abdulrafiu (COED, Ilorin), Muhammed Jibril Kolo (Unilorin), Aremu Aishat (Kwarapoly) Idris Maryam Bolakale (kwarapoly)

Meanwhile, the Senate President in a telephone interview last night said the state government has interfered in the issue.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button